Back to top
Dispute resolution professionals specialising in resolving international financial and investor-state disputes

Transactional lawyers, in particular, those from developing Belt and Road countries, with specialised knowledge of and experience in cross-border transactions from investing or host states

Legal and dispute resolution services
Detailed Descriptions
Latest Position and Perspective in Hong Kong

High development potentials in Hong Kong given its position as an international dispute resolution services centre

Hong Kong can further develop its potential in provision of international legal and dispute resolution services for jurisdictions from the Belt and Road Initiative and the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Bay Area Development. Specialised legal and dispute resolution services providers who are specialising in resolving financial and investor-state disputes are much needed to help enhance Hong Kong’s position as an international dispute resolution services centre.

The Government has been encouraging transactional lawyers from the Belt and Road countries or the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Bay Area jurisdictions, especially those acting for businesses who will set up their corporate vehicles in Hong Kong for their inbound or outbound investments, to be familiar with Hong Kong. This will increase the chances of Hong Kong being designated as the seat of arbitration and Hong Kong law being designated as the applicable law, and thus enhancing Hong Kong’s position in the international legal community and benefitting the local legal and dispute service providers.

Description of Tasks

Dispute resolution professionals specialising in resolving international financial and investor-state disputes, including Arbitrators who are neutral parties with expertise in rendering final and binding decisions at the conclusion of arbitral proceedings; Mediators who are impartial individuals, without adjudicating a dispute, with expertise in assisting the parties to the dispute to reach a negotiated settlement

Transactional lawyers from outside Hong Kong possessing specialised knowledge of and experience in cross-border transactions in which their countries or jurisdictions play the roles of investing or host states, who are in the best position to advise their clients on the applicable law of contracts and seat of arbitration.

Typical Qualifications
Dispute resolution professionals:

Specialised arbitrators or mediators with multilingual ability who have been appointed to resolve international financial disputes or investment disputes between investors and host states.

The arbitrators or mediators must have given awards or have facilitated parties to reach settlement agreements in 3 or more cases in the above specialised areas in the past 3 years.

Transactional lawyers:
(i) A person of good standing in his/her foreign jurisdiction in which he/she is qualified to practise law;
(ii) He/she is a fit and proper person to be registered as a foreign lawyer in Hong Kong by the Law Society of Hong Kong or employed as in-house counsel of companies in Hong Kong
(iii) He/she has at least 8 years post qualification experience as a legal practitioner in any jurisdiction and holds a current practising certificate in his/her home jurisdiction;
(iv) He/she has 5 years or more specialised experience in advising corporate clients to conduct cross-border transactions in which his/her country or jurisdiction plays the role of investing or host state (e.g. debt and/or equity capital market transactions, merger and acquisitions and cross-border finance ); and
(v) Priority will be given to nationals of those countries along the Belt and Road routes which are considered developing countries by the World Trade Organization (“WTO”).
Enquiry on the Profession

Department of Justice
Email: dojinfo@doj.gov.hk

Hong Kong's Legal Services

返回页顶
专门解决国际金融及国家与投资者之间纠纷的争议解决专才

拥有处理来自投资或东道国跨境交易的专门知识及经验,特别是来自一带一路沿线的发展中国家的业务交易律师

法律及争议解决服务
详细说明
香港的最新发展和前景

香港作为国际争议解决服务中心的地位为行业带来重大发展潜力

香港可以进一步发展其潜力,为「一带一路」沿线的司法管辖区和粤港澳大湾区的发展提供国际法律及争议解决服务。香港非常需要专门提供法律及争议解决服务的专才,特别是专门解决国际金融及国家与投资者之间纠纷的争议解决专才,以协助促进香港的国际争议解决服务中心地位。

政府一直鼓励来自一带一路各国,或粤港澳大湾区各个司法管辖区的业务交易律师,特别是将会在香港设立分支机构,以进行境内或境外投资的商行的代表律师,必须熟悉香港。这样将增加香港被指定为仲裁地,以及香港法律被指定为适用法律的机会,从而提升香港在国际法律界的地位,并令本地的法律及争议服务提供商受惠。

职责说明

专门解决国际金融及国家与投资者之间纠纷的争议解决专才,即作为中立的一方,专长为仲裁程序作结,作出最终和具约束力的决定的仲裁员及为两不偏袒的独立人士,不会对争议作出裁决,专长协助涉及争议的各方透过谈判达成和解方案的调解员

来自香港以外地方的业务交易律师,拥有处理来自该投资一方的国家或东道国跨境交易的专门知识及经验的业务交易律师,最能够为其客户提供有关合约适用法律和仲裁地的意见。

典型资历
争议解决专才

已被指派解决国际金融争议,或涉及投资者与东道国之间投资争议,并具有多种语文能力的专门仲裁员或调解员。

有关仲裁员或调解员必须在过去三年,在上述专门领域为三个或以上的个案作出仲裁,或协助争议各方达成和解协议。

业务交易律师
(i) 在本身的海外司法区具备法律执业资格,并有良好声望的人士;
(ii) 适合在香港律师会注册成为海外律师,或受聘担任香港公司的内部顾问的人士;
(iii) 取得资历后,在任何司法区具备最少有八年法律执业经验,而且持有现时在其原居地司法区执业证书的人士;
(iv) 具有五年或更长的专门经验,为公司客户的跨境交易提供意见,当中的投资方或东道国是所在的国家或司法区(例如债务及/或资产的资本市场交易、合并和收购,以及跨境融资)的人士;及
(v) 一带一路沿线国家并被世界贸易组织列作发展中国家的国民,将获优先考虑。
查询有关专业

律政司
电邮:dojinfo@doj.gov.hk

香港法律服务